Home Politics Deputy Speaker Resigns, 9 Lawmakers Defect To APC In Imo State

Deputy Speaker Resigns, 9 Lawmakers Defect To APC In Imo State


The Deputy Speaker of Imo State House of Assembly, Okey Onyekanma, has resigned.

This is coming few days after the Supreme Court sacked Emeka Ihedioha of the PDP and ordered Hope Uzodinma to take over new Imo State Governor.

Onyekanma’s letter of resignation was read by the speaker of the house during plenary on Tuesday.

Onyekanma equally resigned as the Chairman, House Committee on Rules and Business.

In a related development, nine lawmakers of the state house of Assembly have announced their defection to the ruling APC.

The defecting lawmakers are from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) and Action Alliance (AA).

The PDP defectors are Chyna Iwuanyanwu (Nwangele), Chidiebere Ogbunikpa(Okigwe), Heclus Okorocha (Ohaji/Egbema),  Paul Emeziem (Onuimo).

Those from AA are Authur Egwim (Ideato north), Obinna Okwara (Nkwerre), Johnson Duru (Ideato South), and Ngozi Obiefule (Isu) while Ekene Nnodimele (Orsu) moved from APGA to APC.

Bittertruth Media reports that before this recent defection, the APC had no member of the state House of Assembly. This has raised fears that the new governor might be impeached by members of the opposition at the house.

ALSO READ:  PDP Governor Drums Support For Gov.Obaseki’s Reelection