Home Politics APC Returns To Winning Way In Imo Rerun Poll

APC Returns To Winning Way In Imo Rerun Poll


The All Progressives Congress has won the Okigwe North federal constituency of Imo state rerun election held on Saturday.

The APC candidate, Miriam Onuoha was declared the winner of the rerun election at the Collation Centre in Onuimo Local Government Area on Sunday by the Independent National Electoral Commissioner, prof Frank Nnadi- Okafor.

According to the INECs returning officer, the APC candidate polled 23,690 votes to defeat the incumbent, Obinna Onwubuariri of the People Democratic Party who got 10,010 votes.

A breakdown of the result according to the Returning officer showed that in Okigwe LGA, APC scored 6,776, PDP 3,321, in Onuimo, APC 5,758, PDP 3,026 while in the Isiala Mbano LGA, APC garnered 11,156, PDP 3,363.

ALSO READ:  PDP Senator, Rose Oko Is Dead