Home Politics From Zero Member, APC Now Has 26 Members In Imo Assembly

From Zero Member, APC Now Has 26 Members In Imo Assembly


The emergence of Senator Hope Uzodinma as the new governor of Imo State has continued to rob the Peoples Democratic Party and other parties of their hard earned victories with the unending wave of defections that have continued to hit the party.

Surprisingly is that of the Imo State House of Assembly where from having no lawmakers therein, the now ruling All Progressive Congress (APC) has 26 legislators who Defected from the Action Alliance, All Progressives Grand Alliance and the Peoples Democratic Party.

Confirming this development, the speaker of the Imo State House of Assembly, Dr Chiji Collins on Saturday of the 27 lawmakers, only the immediate past Deputy Speaker, Hon Okey Onyekanma is of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Addressing the APC supporters during a rally in support of Governor Hope Uzodinma in Owerri, the Imo State capital, Chiji said the defection was because the lawmakers want to partner with Gov. Uzodinma to succeed, insisting that their defection was devoid of any inducement.

ALSO READ:  Checkout 3 Top States With Records Of Malpractices In JAMB Exams

The Speaker said: “As at last night, we have 26 lawmakers who have declared for APC, and by next week, I assure you that soon the 27 will all be for APC. Wait till the next plenary when all of them will officially defect.

“We are ready to support the Governor because he is ready to turn this State around”.

He added that in the next six months under Uzodinma: “Imo state will be transformed because he has direct connection with President Muhamadu Buhari.

“And we are going to partner fully with the government of Senator Hope Uzodinma”.

Bittertruth Media recalls that the Supreme Court had on January 14, 2020 declared Senator Hope Uzodinma as the Governor of Imo State, an action that ousted Chief Emeka Ihedioha from office.