Home Politics Bayelsa Governor, Deputy Officially Lose Seats At Senate

Bayelsa Governor, Deputy Officially Lose Seats At Senate


The President of the Nigerian Senate, Ahmad Lawan has declared the seats of Bayelsa State Governor, Douye Diri and that of his deputy, Lawrence Ewhrudjakpo vacant.

Bittertruth Media recalls that the duo before a Supreme Court Verdict that ascended them to the seat of power in Bayelsa State were senators representing Bayelsa Central and Bayelsa West Senatorial Districts. While Sen. Diri represented Bayelsa Central, his deputy, Sen.Ewhrudjakpo represented Bayelsa West senatorial district.

Meanwhile, National Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission INEC, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu said the electoral umpire would soon pick dates for the conduct of a by-election to fill the two seats.

Prof.Yakubu stated this while speaking at a meeting with Resident Electoral Commissioners RECs on Friday in Abuja.

“In compliance with the orders of the Supreme Court, the Commission has presented Certificates of Return in respect of the Governorship elections in Imo and Bayelsa States. In the case of Bayelsa State, both the Governor and Deputy Governor were serving Senators. Consequently, the Commission yesterday Thursday 20th February 2020 received two communications from the Senate President declaring the seats for Bayelsa Central and Bayelsa West Senatorial Districts vacant. The Commission will soon meet to determine the dates for by-elections in the two Senatorial Districts”, said Yakubu.

ALSO READ:  Court of Appeal Affirms The Candidature of Bayelsa Governor-Elect